Your Rights Under the Iowa Minimum Wage Law

Hourly Minimum Wage

\$7.25

The minimum wage applies to most hourly wage earners employed in Iowa. Most small retail and service establishments grossing less than \$300,000 annually are not required to pay the minimum wage. The majority of supervisory and administrative employees paid a salary are not covered by the law. Employers may pay an initial employment rate of \$6.35 for the first 90 calendar days of employment.

TIP CREDIT – The employer's share for tipped employees who customarily and regularly receive more than \$30 per month in tips must be at least \$4.35 an hour.

Enforcement

The Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing Wage and Child Labor Unit may bring action against employers who violate the state's minimum wage law. Courts may order payment of back wages. No employer can discriminate against or discharge an employee for filing a complaint or participating in a proceeding under this law.

Contact Information:

Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing Investigations Division | Wage and Child Labor Unit 6200 Park Ave., Suite 100 | Des Moines, IA 50321 Phone: 515.631.8901 | Fax: 515.242.6507

dial.iowa.gov

Federal Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay

Applications of the minimum wage rates under federal law differ from those under Iowa Law. Iowa employers must comply with the more stringent applicable law. Overtime is covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. Questions concerning federal law should be directed to:

U.S. Department of Labor Wage & Hour Division 210 Walnut St. Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: 515.284.4625

dol.gov

The law requires displaying this poster where it can easily be seen by all employees

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program: Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. For deaf and hard of hearing, use Relay 711.

Revised: 3.13.25